Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

notice_evrytree’s #CBR4 Review #02: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Mindy Kaling is a first class example of a funny, hard-working woman in comedy. Along with Tina Fey, Maria Bamford, and Amy Poehler, she is probably one of my favorite female comics who also happens to be an impressive role model (nary a DUI on record). I strongly dislike the comedy of some women (not to like, name names, but maybe women whose names rhyme with Tarah Tilverman) who base their jokes on racial slurs and rape victims. Kaling knows how to keep it smart. I follow her on Twitter and read her blog religiously. Lady has it going on.

All of this said, I was not a huge fan of her book. Unlike Fey’s Bossypants, I didn’t find myself doubling over with laughter or running out of my apartment in my trackpants the second I was done, offering to buy a copy for everyone on the street (okay, I didn’t actually do that because I likely was wearing trackpants at the time, and I try to keep that in the home. No one wants to see me in my trackpants. Not even my roommate). Yes, I have also bought something that costs less than three dollars with my debit card because I never ever carry cash with me. I get that, Mindy. But I really did think your book lacked the depth necessary to be called really great comedy.

It’s an incredibly speedy read (clocking in for me at less that 24 hours to complete), so if you’re interesting in some (very) light reading, I recommend you pick it up.

Or, you know, read Bossypants again.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers