Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Scootsa1000′s #CBR4 Review #6: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

The Uglies is the first in a four-book series, and I can tell you that without a doubt, it will be the only book in the series that I’ll read.

The Uglies tells the tale of Tally Youngblood, who is almost 16 and can’t wait to turn pretty.  In this futuristic dystopia, all citizens are given a special operation at 16, which turns them flawless and beautiful — symmetrical and perfect in every way.  Literally nothing from their old appearance survives.  These children are taught from birth that the way they look is wrong (they are even called Uglies), and that life will be great once they turn pretty.

 Read my entire review on my blog.
Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Scootsa1000′s #CBR4 Review #6: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

  1. Oh that makes me sad, I really liked this one!

  2. I went back through all the old reviews for this one and it seemed to be pretty split down the middle. Some loved it, some hated it.

    I’m guessing my main problem is that I am far, far away from being 16 years old. Sometimes I get into the YA stories, and sometimes I just don’t.

    And also, I was reading another book at the same time that was much better (Daughter of Smoke and Bone), so this one doomed from the start!

    But this is what is great about the CBR group. I’m seeing a ton of rave reviews lately for a book I particularly despised — and I enjoy reading why other people really adore something that I couldn’t stand.

  3. Ohhh yes Daughter of Smoke and Bone was SO good

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers