Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Sophia’s #CBR4 Review #12 Divergent by Veronica Roth

And just like that, I am addicted to yet another young-adult series. I think it was a fellow Cannonballer who first recommended Divergent (2011) by Veronica Roth, so I dutifully found it in the library and started reading. And I found an exciting, violent story that kept me from doing more productive things this weekend.

In some ways, Divergent is very comparable to The Hunger Games. There is a dystopian society, threatening rebellion; there is a young woman, kicking some ass; and, of course, there is a love triangle. Beatrice is sixteen years old and lives in a post-war world that has split itself into five separate factions. These factions include: Candor, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity, and Erudite. Beatrice grew up in Abnegation but is now of the age where she must choose where she will live for her adult life. And if she doesn’t make it through the initiation process for her chosen faction, she will be stuck homeless between factions.

Roth creates a pretty exciting story that follows Beatrice into her new faction and her struggles there. A number of things about Beatrice I could relate to personally or reminded me of our world. In the beginning of the book, the separate factions felt very much like high school cliques. In addition, most everyone can understand the yearning to belong, the feeling that you don’t, and the urge to find the right path in life. I also appreciated that even though Beatrice is small and a girl, she is one of the toughest characters in the story. Apparently the second book comes out in May, and I will definitely be picking it up to see what happens next.

However, even though it was an easy and exciting read, I still had some problems with the story. I guess I’m kind of picky about consistency and realism in whatever world an author creates. I find it difficult to believe that a world would set itself up in factions, although I can overlook it since it was an intriguing idea. Where I had more problems was what seemed to me a lack of consistency with the characters, a lack of consequences for some of the action, and what sometimes felt like a manipulated plot in order to hit some specific dramatic points.

Read all the spoilers in the rest of my review here.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Sophia’s #CBR4 Review #12 Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Great review. I really enjoyed this as well and am looking forward to seeing what happens next when Insurgent comes out, I have it pre-ordered! One query was where was the love triangle? I must admit, one of the reasons I liked this was because there was no love triangle which seems to be coming an all too familiar theme of YA. Who is the third side with Tris and Four?

  2. sophia4747 on said:

    Thanks for the comment. Maybe it wasn’t too much of a love triangle since Tris didn’t like him back, but since Al liked Tris, and then there was Tris and Four, I kind of thought of it that way.

  3. alwaysanswerb on said:

    Well, that cover is certainly meant to evoke the Mockingjay image! Thanks for the review. I’ll probably pick this one up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers