Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Baxlala’s #CBR4 Review #12: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I’ve made a huge mistake. I finished this book a few weeks ago and, though I loved it, like, SO MUCH (if I could give it more than five stars, I would), I’m no longer feeling QUITE as zealous about it*. For instance, when I finished it, I reviewed it on Goodreads as such:

HOLY SHIT THIS BOOK IS FUCKING AMAZING LASDLKFJAWERUILSKDFJALSDKFLA DJF

More of a review once I put my brain back together.

Which is a ridiculous kind of review. Unfortunately, that’s the only kind of review I know how to write, so hold onto your butts.

I read this book at Ashley’s urging, based mostly on the power of her review, honestly, though if one were to take blind recommendations for books to read, Ashley would be a prime resource. ANYWAY. Ready Player One is set in the near future, a future that could very well be just around the corner, and tells the tale of Wade Watts, an overweight teen living in a “stacked” trailer park with his terrible aunt and his terrible aunt’s terrible boyfriend. Wade lives for one thing: his connection to OASIS, an online game that feels more real for most people than real life. OASIS was created by a reclusive genius named James Halliday, who, upon his death, announced that he’d hidden an Easter Egg within the game, and the first to find it would inherit Halliday’s fortune.

Wade is a gunter, an egg hunter, best friend of Aech and lover-from-afar of Art3mis, neither of whom he has ever met IRL but I think we can all agree that hardly matters. In a world where it’s become the norm to have multiple internet friends you’ve never actually hung out with in the same zip code, it seems perfectly natural that this progression will lead us to a civilization that embraces something like OASIS. I went back and forth between being jealous that I couldn’t jump straight into OASIS (it being fiction and all) and sadness for the people in the book who were so disillusioned with real life that they’d rather spend all of their time in a world of make believe. (That said, I DO spend most of my free time reading about wizards and magic and all sorts of other made up nonsense so maybe I’m already living inside OASIS.)

To say more would be robbing you of the extreme pleasure of reading this book. The nerd references, the little surprises, it feels like the book is giving your brain a hug, and I don’t want to do anything to take that away from you. I will say, though, that, as a native Ohioan, I did laugh at Columbus, Ohio being some kind of utopia. OH THE GIGGLES. Not that Columbus, Ohio is terrible or anything. Not only is there a record store called Magnolia Thunderpussy but I met Ben Folds there. So maybe it IS a utopia.

*which can only mean I need to read it again IMMEDIATELY

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Baxlala’s #CBR4 Review #12: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

  1. Isn’t it funny that I forget all the time that I’ve never actually met you? Sometimes when I’m telling stories about you internet people to my IRL friends, I just say things like, “This one time my friend Jennie . . .” and I don’t even have to preface it by saying “My friend Jennie who I met on the internet but who I’ve never actually met and not it’s not creepy so shut up.”

    Except one time I actually did meet Gretchen and Abigail.

    P.S. I’m re-reading this book on audiobook right now. Does that mean I have to re-review it? Le sigh.

  2. baxlala on said:

    I know exactly what you mean. In this day and age, really, it’s totally not creepy. Maybe one day one of us will win the lottery and then we can buy an island or something so all the imaginary people can visit all at once. I don’t know why it has to be an island, but it does (LOST).

  3. baxlala on said:

    PS: Yes, I think you have to re-review it but you could mostly talk about Wil Wheaton so it’d be super fun.

  4. Gretchen Alice on said:

    I need to listen to the audiobook. (In general, I need to listen to more audiobooks.)

    Someday, we should all take a trip to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter together. How frakking awesome would that be?

  5. I’m reading this RIGHT NOW and am so excited that I’m not the only one falling in love with it! :)

  6. I don’t know if any of you ever read the io9.com website, but they have a monthly bookclub where the author joins in to the community discussions. This month: Ready Player One. Ernest Cline will be chatting on Friday to answer any questions. Should be good…in the past some of the author discussions have been a lot of fun.

    http://io9.com/5894931/the-io9-book-club-is-in-session-lets-talk-about-ernest-clines-ready-player-one

    • baxlala on said:

      That’s so cool! I’m definitely going to check that out…thanks for letting me know! And for giving me another place to nerd out about books. Heh.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers