Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Baxlala’s #CBR4 Review #13: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Reading The Fault in Our Stars was like entering some kind of fugue state. I became so engrossed in the characters, it was kind of like watching a movie, but a really good movie, starring people I actually knew and loved. When I finished the book, I looked down and was surprised to find the sofa was covered in tissues because DEAR GOD, THE CRYING.

I mean, it wasn’t like I was unprepared. I read the book because Ashley (narfna) told me to, and when Ashley tells you to read a book, you do it. You just do. And she said I’d cry. I was warned. I picked up both Ready Player One and The Fault in Our Stars on her recommendation and they both blew my mind into itty bitty pieces. The only complaint I have is that I wish I’d read The Fault in Our Stars before Ready Player One because I needed something light and fun to read afterward. Because DEAR GOD, THE CRYING. This was me, during 50% of this book:

PhotobucketPhotobucket Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

That last one, especially.

The Fault in Our Stars is about two teenagers, Hazel and Augustus, who meet in a support group for kids with cancer. OH WON’T THIS BE A LIGHTHEARTED ROMP? Well, it sort of is, for a while. Hazel and Gus are delightful, really, witty and charming and I wish I’d been friends with them when I was a teenager. Hell, even now. It’s interesting, I just finished reading The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, which was great, but this felt so much more real to me. Maybe, I don’t know, because there were no magical pants? IT’S A MYSTERY.

This is no joke, I went into work the day after I finished reading The Fault in Our Stars and as soon as my boss saw me, she said, “Oh my god, sit down! What happened, have you been crying?” And I had to explain that, yes, I had been crying but nothing was wrong, not really, just that MY HEART WAS STOMPED ON BY A MEAN BOOK. I don’t think she really understood how a book made me cry so hard because, you guys, there are two kinds of people in this world: those that cry so hard reading sad books that their eyes fall out and…people I don’t understand.

Anyway, I guess I could have felt ashamed or something because I came into work looking like someone died, but I’m not. I defy you to read this book without weeping. Do you hear that? I DEFY YOU.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Baxlala’s #CBR4 Review #13: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. I think you missed a couple:

    Photobucket

    Photobucket

  2. Heh this is my favorite book review ever, when I got to Ted I started cracking up. I really want to read this book but I also REALLY hate crying. It’s a conundrum. Have you read The Book Thief? It’s equally amazing and guaranteed to make you cry.

    • baxlala on said:

      I totally understand. I had to take a couple of breaks because I seriously thought my eyes were going to fall out of my head. I mean, I was SOBBING. I haven’t read The Book Thief! I’m waiting for it to come in at the library, though, so hopefully soon!

  3. “I don’t think she really understood how a book made me cry so hard because, you guys, there are two kinds of people in this world: those that cry so hard reading sad books that their eyes fall out and…people I don’t understand.”

    YES! So true.

  4. I am on Chapter 20 right now and had to take a break, because for some reason I couldn’t see the words on the page anymore.
    Stupid crying.

  5. I haven’t read it yet, because of the crying. Each of those Gifs could easily be me, reading anything that is remotely sad. When I heard the outline of this book, I knew it would have to live on the shelf till I was ready to read it – John Green or not. But people keep saying it is SO GOOD, that I’m beginning to think I’ll have to chance it sooner rather than later.

    • baxlala on said:

      Yeah, definitely definitely be prepared to cry A LOT. I’d say wait for a day when you don’t have to do anything else because you can probably finish it in a day and then all your cries will be done.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers