Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Scootsa1000’s #CBR4 Review #12: I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

After finishing The Fault in Our Stars, I was looking for something a little lighter and a little easier to digest.  And NO CRYING.  So I went through my pile of library books and pulled out the latest by Sophie Kinsella, author of such literary delights as The Shopaholic series of books and other titles like The Undomestic Goddess and Can You Keep A Secret?  These books are the equivalent of a burger and fries.  They aren’t good for you, but you enjoy them and look forward to them anyway.

I’ve Got Your Number is the story of Poppy Wyatt, a 30-something physical therapist in London, who is recently engaged to the gorgeous and brilliant Magnus.  They haven’t been dating very long, but they both felt getting married was the right thing to do, and he gave her a gorgeous emerald ring (that just so happens to be a family heirloom).  At the very start of the book, Poppy realizes that she has lost her ring while at a big event in a hotel ballroom, and is madly searching for it with the hotel’s entire cleaning staff.  As she is about to leave (and go face Magnus and his family without the ring), her phone is stolen and she realizes that she has no way for the hotel to contact her if they find the ring.

Of course, this is when Poppy finds another, perfectly good phone in a trash can in the hotel lobby, and decides that this is her phone from now on.  It turns out that the phone belonged to the disgruntled assistant to a local businessman named Sam Roxton.  And after a quick Beyonce-themed singing telegram for a Japanese businessman, Poppy and Sam begin a text and phone-call relationship.

Poppy helps Sam to be a better man at work, and to realize that he doesn’t have to be all business, all the time.  Sam helps Poppy realizes that she is smarter and more important than she believes herself to be.  They begin to enjoy their quick conversations more and more…will they become friends or even something more?

Oh, and did I mention that Sam is extremely wealthy and equally handsome?

Even though I could see the ending coming a million miles away, I still enjoyed the story and was actually sorry when it ended.  I could have used another 100 pages of Kinsella’s fun version of London.

You can read more of my reviews (and Bunnybean’s) on my blog.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Scootsa1000’s #CBR4 Review #12: I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

  1. baxlala on said:

    Awesome. I can tell how this will end and I don’t even care, I’ll probably read it. I wish I’d had it after The Fault in Our Stars. Heh.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers