Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Bothari’s #CBR4 Review #16: A Little Bit Wicked by Kristin Chenoweth

I almost put this down after two pages, thinking Kristin’s heavy emphasis on her faith would be too much for this snarky atheist, but I’m glad I stuck with it. I’m a big fan of Pushing Daisies and the Wicked soundtrack, and when I got Kristin’s autobiography for my birthday last year, it looked like a fun read. And it was! She talks about growing up “blowing the doors off” various churches as she signs up to sing wherever anyone will let her, and her pageant experience, and moving to New York City and following the Broadway dream. She has a fun, breezy writing style (with an assist from co-writer Joni Rogers) and her little tangential asides are funny. She talks quite a bit about her on-again off-again romance with Aaron Sorkin, but there’s not a lot of Hollywood insider dirt. It’s a lot about perseverance, luck, and faith along the road to success. It all kind of boils down to: “I tried this show and it failed; I tried this show and it won me a Tony; sometimes television was good to me, sometimes not.” But it’s a chipper ride, from hair extensions to heartache. Kristin seems like she would be great fun to have a piece of pie with, even though I don’t think we’d be best buds. 

It’s a very ‘skimming the surface’ book, but that was quite all right with me. If I’m going to spend hundreds of pages with every detail of a person’s life and all his/her innermost thoughts, I’d rather that person be fictional. That much detail in a real person’s life is just not that interesting!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers