Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Baxlala’s #CBR4 Reviews #21 and #22: Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Can I just take a moment to echo what, oh, everyone else is saying and tell you that I AM SO BEHIND ON MY REVIEWS?

Photobucket

BECAUSE I AM SO BEHIND ON MY REVIEWS. And so I’m combining two books into one review because then they’ll be done and I can cross them off of my list, and there’s nothing I love more than crossing something off of a list.

It’s actually been over a month, I think, since I finished The Hunger Games trilogy (for the second time). I reviewed The Hunger Games pretty quickly but now I’m left with reviewing Catching Fire and Mockingjay and I can’t always remember what specific things happen in what book. Like, I know the obvious stuff, but maybe not, like, character stuff. So forgive me, please, if I stick to the surface. (STANDARD.)

Spoilers ahead, BEWARE ALL WHO TRESPASS HERE.

Catching Fire picks up where The Hunger Games left off, basically. Katniss and her family are living in a fancy house now, since she was a tribute victorious (not Crucifictorious, in case you’re confused), next door to Peeta and Haymitch. Well. Peeta lives in one house and Haymitch lives in another. They don’t live together. That might make for good sitcom fodder, but it also might raise some eyebrows.

Buy the album.

ANYWAY. Katniss is supposed to be preparing for her wedding to Peeta, continuing the charade that they are in love and getting ready to live happily ever after. She is torn between Gale and Peeta, still, because feelings are hard to sort out, y’all CUT HER SOME SLACK.

Can you tell that Catching Fire is really just, like, the waiting room for Mockingjay? I don’t even care, though, it’s my favorite. Because you know why? FINNICK ODAIR.

I mean. Finnick, you guys. FINNICK.

Alright, so, back to Catching Fire. Katniss and Peeta go on tour, though all of the districts, and Katniss inadvertently starts a couple of riots, which could happen to anyone, really. President Snow had already given her a warning to stay in line (being as creepy as possible, as is his way), so really he had no choice but to mess with the upcoming Hunger Games and throw her back inside, alongside Peeta and Finnick and a bunch of other past winners.

CUE EXTREME CRAZINESS. I can’t even talk about all the shit that goes down in the arena because it would make my heart explode with feelings, but I will just say that once you finish Catching Fire, it is physically impossible to do anything other than pick up Mockingjay and read it to its finish.

Mockingjay is…well. I’m still working out my feelings.

When Mockingjay begins, we find Katniss is living in District 13. She’s mostly miserable but it’s hard to tell because it’s Katniss. She shares a compartment with her sister and mother, who both work in the hospital. The people in District 13 are really strict on account of they’ve been struggling to survive since being cut off from The Capitol.

SPEAKING of The Capitol, they are holding Peeta as their prisoner, along with Finnick’s girlfriend and Johanna Mason because President Snow is a turdbucket. Katniss finally agrees to be the Mockingjay, a political symbol to be used to propagandize the masses, which she does in exchange for Peeta, basically. Oh, and also she wants to kill President Snow because, again, giant turdbucket.

Oh, this book. I actually had to put it down toward the end (YOU know when) because I wasn’t sure I could finish. I eventually picked it back up, reread the passage in question to make sure I’d actually read correctly, and put it down again. WTF, Collins. So mean.

Anyway, blah blah blah, you should read these, duh.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Baxlala’s #CBR4 Reviews #21 and #22: Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

  1. “President Snow is a turdbucket.” Love it.

  2. Not just a turdbucket but a smelly turdbucket (not that there’s any other kind).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers