Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Rebecca’s #CBR4 Review #11 Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Brian Lee O’Malley

Scott Pilgrim is a series of 6 graphic novels about Scott, a 23-year-old Canadian who meets the girl of his dreams and then has to defeat her seven evil exes. I have a huge pop culture blindspot when it comes to comics; I don’t really have an opinion about them, as I have never been exposed to them directly. Like most people who love movies, I am swimming in adaptations of comic books and graphic novels; but I had never actually sat down to read one.

Since I had already seen the movie Scott Pilgrim vs. the World and found it pretty damn adorable, I decided that the series would be a good place to start in my attempt to expose myself to the world of comics. I also found the book pretty damn adorable.

Scott is dating Knives Chau, a 17-year-old girl, when he sees a girl that he dreamt about the night before and immediately pursues her, barely remembering that he is already dating somebody else. He hangs out with his friends and bandmates, and pursues Ramona Flowers, the mysterious girl from his dreams.

Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life sets up the format that the rest of the series will follow; Scott is forgetful, and kind of stupid, but is slowly learning to be a better person, while also learning how to be in an adult relationship. Although Scott fights an evil ex in the first book, it is not really about the fight so much as Scott growing up. I’m going to keep reading and see where the books go.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers