Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Quorren’s #CBR4 Review #46 Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex by Eoin Colfer

I’d been not so patiently waiting for the next book in the Bartimaeus trilogy to get here when I was informed by the seller on Amazon that the book had already arrived.  I’ve had problems with my mail being stolen before, but I thought I should check all of my to-be-read piles to make sure I didn’t misplace it.  After building a book fort, I can confidently say that I have a mail theft problem.  The silver lining to this, though, was that I found an Artemis Fowl book that I had completely forgotten about!

This is the seventh book in the series, so I’ll give an brief outline of the Artemis Fowl mythos, if you haven’t read the books before.  Artemis Fowl is a child progidy of an extremely wealthy family.  When Artemis’s dad goes missing after a misunderstanding with the Russian Mafiya, Fowl stock crashes and the debtors come calling.  Artemis, after reading several stories about fairies, believes that these beings may yet still exists and sets out to capture one for its gold.  Fairies do exist, hidden underground, and have sophisticated technology and weaponry.  Artemis ends up capturing Holly, a LEPrecon captain (the fairy people’s security force).  Shenanigans ensue.  Nowadays Artemis is not so much the criminal mastermind as he was, and regularly teams up with the fairy people and especially Holly for adventures.  I know it does sounds a little bit juveniles, and it is a young adult book, but all the books are very entertaining.

There’s also an incredibly sarcastic centaur named Foaly.  Colfer could make a book of Foaly giving quippy one-liners to people and I would read it.

In this book, Artemis, through his constant contact with fairies and magic, has developed the Atlantis Complex.  The Atlantis Complex is a psychological disorder that previously only occurred to fairies, particularly ones that had done many things to be guilt about.  Symptoms include paranoia, obsessions, multiple personalities and a need to save the world.  Artemis’s insanity is poorly timed, as a criminal mastermind fairy, imprisoned in Atlantis, is plotting his escape.

I highly recommend this series, especially since my copy of The Atlantis Complex informs me that Disney now owns the rights to the story.  I assume a movie franchise is in the works.  So read the books now so you can be totally hipster-y when the movie is released about how you liked the books before anyone else.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers