Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Shaman’s Cannonball read #CBR04 review #20: A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin

Major spoilers, obviously.

 

I was a latecomer to the Game of Thrones party. It wasn’t until after I had watched the first episode of the TV series in mixed horror and fascination, that I knew who George Martin was. As an avid Tolkien fan (you know Tolkien: Fairies, elves, hobbits, heroes and maidens), this particular brand of fantasy, with all its sex, drugs and rock n’ roll, sellswords and whores, flux and greyscale was completely new to me.

 

As a latecomer, I skipped the long wait others had to suffer between books and dived right in. Bought the first four. Loved some, loathed some. And then it was time for A Dance With Dragons. I bought this book a year ago, as soon as it came out, but put off reading it maybe because just looking at it made me collapse under its weight. This year I couldn’t put it off any longer. I started reading it almost two months ago, and made slow progress. A few pages every day were about all I could fit into my life, at a time where work and other worries occupied my mind.

 

I was bored. I had trouble keeping up with who was who and who was doing what to whom. Whose side was Bolton on? Who conspired against Daenerys? And how did all of those minor characters fit into the story? My eyes glazed over the lengthy meal descriptions that seem to be a Martin trademark. I had favourites, of course. Arya. Theon. Tyrion. I still looked forward to reading their chapters. Martin finally bringing back my favourite characters was probably what kept me reading.

 

The rest of my review can be found on my blog.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Shaman’s Cannonball read #CBR04 review #20: A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin

  1. I have loved Games of thrones, but Fantasy seems to be a pretext to tell a story about politic, and I don’t like it: I do not read, and see, fantasy to find other fantastical worlds where heroes loose their time in politic issues… I would rather read the newspaper, wouldn’t I?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers