Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

BanannerPants’s #CBR4 Review #7: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

     I am the only person on the planet who did not like this book. I’ve talked to others who have read this book, and I felt a little differently than the other people . I wasn’t as completely overcome. I didn’t fall in love with it, or whatever positive emotion others had.  It’s actually been months since I’ve read it. I put off reviewing it because I knew I was the only person who didn’t like it. I’m not saying it was all bad; it just wasn’t for me. There was terminal cancer and love and teenagers. Only one of these things interests me, and even then terminal cancer can only hold my attention for so long. Eventually I need it to hold up to its name and end.

It was sad, but dumb. I may be the only one who thinks this, but I’m not backing down from it. Too many things were coincidences and too many things could only happen in a fantasy world. Sure, a fantasy world filled with terminal cancer, but still. Fake make-a-wish foundations and trips to meet reclusive authors are part of a fantasy world. Also, really sweet teenage boys are part of a fantasy world.

There were parts of it I liked. Mostly the words John Green uses and the way in which he uses them. It is a nice, easy, pleasant read. I didn’t have to flip to an index or keep a dictionary next to me to understand it. It’s very accessible. Oh, that’s because it’s for teenagers. Right. I’m not its target audience so I should stop shitting all over it. It was fine.

I know we were supposed to care about all of these people so much. It was a book full of empathetic characters; we’re supposed to root for all of them and hope beyond all hope that a cure for everything is found and they all get to survive forever. Of course, they can’t. They just can’t and I think we’re supposed to be completely devastated at this realization, but we’re naive if we are. It’s not a support group for the common cold and sore throats. It’s a support group for kids with terminal cancer. We’re being setup for heartbreak; you have to really deliver serious heartbreak.

I just didn’t care for it. Also, I’m a bit of a cynic. I do like its title though. It’s fun to say.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

