Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Sara Habein’s #CBR4 Review #45: Life on Mars by Tracy K. Smith

How do I even begin to tell you how wonderful Life on Mars is? Tracy K. Smith’s poetry fills me with peace and such fullness, even when she writes about how inhuman we can be. Her poems are almost meditative — I really enjoyed slowing down and focusing on her words, their rhythm, and the overall picture of the poem before me. Part space opera, part elegy, part wartime commentary, Life on Mars exceedingly deserves the Pulitzer it received, won on Smith’s birthday, no less.

(My full review appears at Glorified Love Letters.)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Sara Habein’s #CBR4 Review #45: Life on Mars by Tracy K. Smith

  1. Wonderful to read a poetry review (and a good one at that!). I will definitely check this book out, thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Thanks! I have another poetry review coming soon, and I’ve got a few more here: http://glorifiedloveletters.blogspot.com/search/label/poetry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers