Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Krista’s #CBR4 Reviews 21 – 25, too many titles to put up here!

Five more done – yay! As usual, click the links to read the full(er) reviews on my review blog:

21. Frindle, Andrew Clements
Honestly, I really enjoyed this novel as well as Clements’ writing style. The book would be a funny, engaging read, and it’s also a very great introduction to words and their importance.

22. The Magicians, Lev Grossman
You guys, I really, really wanted to like this book. I tried so hard. In the beginning, when Quentin was a student at the college, I liked it. He was there for five years, and those chapters were so quick. I enjoyed hearing about him learning magic, and the relationships he forged, and the people who surrounded him. And then he graduated and the whole book went to hell in a hand basket for me.

23. Sisterhood Everlasting, Ann Brashares

I never got into the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series the way I did the Babysitters Club but I definitely still read them. After reading Sweet Valley Confidential, I was nervous about reading Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares because SVC was so, so bad. But the series were so different to begin with so I took a chance. If you’re looking to avoid spoilers, maybe don’t read this one because a character dies and I’ll probably mention her by name.

You’ve been warned. Fair enough.

24. Still Missing, Chevy Stevens
This book reminded me a lot of Room – young woman held in captivity, forced to have sex with her captor, and so on. And unfortunately, the number one thing that drove me crazy about Room is what drove me crazy about Still Missing: the main character’s voice. It just. didn’t. work. Actually, that is not entirely true. I thought Annie’s voice when she was in captivity was perfect. She sounded scared and intelligent at the same time, and as time elapsed and she was still in captivity, her descent as she started to lose her sense of self was evidence, too.

25. This Beautiful Life, Helen Schulman
I can’t even really gather my thoughts on this book except to say it felt lost and unfinished. When it was over, I thought, “This is seriously the end?” There comes a point where you have to realize that you cannot write a book that goes on forever, but this novel felt nowhere near that point. Much of what Schulman touches on his morality and how none of these characters — not Jake or his mother Liz or father Richard — really know what to feel about what is happening and that’s clear. I think that’s what gives the book that unfinished, sloppy feel.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Krista’s #CBR4 Reviews 21 – 25, too many titles to put up here!

  1. WORD on your thoughts about The Magicians, I just really hated it (and the characters) so much. Quentin is the Holden Caulfield of the magic world, and I hated that whiny little prick, too. It’s such a cold, disconnected book that I don’t understand all these HP comparisons it gets.

    I’m in the middle of Still Missing right now, too! I definitely see what you’re saying about her different voices, but so far I’m ok with it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers