Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Sophia’s #CBR4 Review #23: Wild by Cheryl Strayed

“The thing about hiking the Pacific Crest Trail, the thing that was so profound to me that summer–and yet also, like most things, so very simple–was how few choices I had and how often I had to do the thing I least wanted to do. How there was no escape or denial. No numbing it down with a martini or covering it up with a roll in the hay. As I clung to the chaparral that day…, I considered my options. There were only two and they were essentially the same. I could go back in the direction I had come from, or I could go forward in the direction I intended to go…And so I walked on.”

I started reading Wild (2012) by Cheryl Strayed exactly when I most needed it. I’d been in the fire academy for about two months. I was completely exhausted and burned out. My mind was buzzing from stress, and I hadn’t read anything that was not fire related since before the academy started. But then there came one blessed three-day weekend where I didn’t have quite as much fire reading as usual. So I took advantage of my unusual free time and spent most of the day in bed reading Wild.

Read the rest of my review here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers