Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Alli’s #CBR4 Review #45: We Don’t Live Here Anymore by Andre Dubus

 

We Don’t Live Here Anymore” by Andre Dubuis is another book that I found as I was packing up my things and deciding which books that I would donate and which to keep. I purchased this one for a bargain at a book sale at the library (jerks). I remember liking the movie, but when I first tried to read this book I just couldn’t get into it. I decided to give it another go rather than just giving it away and I am glad that I did because I really enjoyed it.
This book contains three novellas, but they all contain the same cast of characters so really feel like a cohesive novel rather than a collection. The first story is the one that contains most of the movie plot, it introduces us to Hank, Edith, Jack and Terry, two married couples that are also very close friends. It is about monogamy, love, marriage and commitment. Several of those terms really mean the same thing, but then again they don’t. This story is told from the point of view of Jack as he tries to decide if he can continue in a marriage that he feels has lost the love contained within.
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Alli’s #CBR4 Review #45: We Don’t Live Here Anymore by Andre Dubus

  1. idgiepug on said:

    I’ve not read this or seen the movie, but I love Dubus’ short story “Killings,” on which the film In the Bedroom was based. I’ll try to check this out when I have the chance. Dubus is excellent at conveying a lot of emotion in little space. His prose is so careful and precise.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers