Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

CommanderStrikeher’s #CBR4 Review #42: Redshirts by John Scalzi

*Audiobook Review*

Yet another great recommendation from anther Cannonballer.  This book was right up my alley.  I am a huge Star Trek nerd, mostly Next Generation.  This is a loving spoof in the vein of Galaxy Quest.  I laughed my ass off when I read the title of this book.

I listened to this book about 2 months ago, so I’m a little fuzzy on the details.  A bunch of brand-new ensigns have just been assigned to the USS Intrepid, the flagship of the Universal Union.  The reason for all of the new crew members is that low-ranking ensigns tend to die on away missions.  Like a lot.  More than all of the other ships in the fleet combined.  Understandably, this makes the crew a little nervous.

This is a great meta analysis of not only Star Trek, but entertainment in general.  Why do we need so many secondary characters to die in order for a scene to have the proper dramatic impact?  I loved this book, and I am recommending it to nerds everywhere.

5/5 Stars

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “CommanderStrikeher’s #CBR4 Review #42: Redshirts by John Scalzi

  1. It’s now on my TBR list!

    I always want the nameless redshirt to refuse to go on an away mission. Acknowledge the situation and flat out refuse.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers