Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

pyrajane’s review #51: Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart by Joyce Carol Oates

Bitter

This is a brilliant book.  Oates’ writing is simply stunning.  Sometimes her words twirl and spin slowly like honey being drizzled into hot tea.  Descriptions and moments spill silkily across the pages.  It is especially breathtaking when she does this during the darkest moments of the book.  Her descriptions of ugliness, pain and fear follow staccato beats, pulsing into your mind.  It’s poetry in prose form and as I read I had to pause from time to time to simply enjoy the rhythm of the book and reread the art of her writing.  I have a feeling I’m going to gloriously devour more of her books over the next few months.

Please stop by my blog to read the whole review, including my adoration of Oates.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “pyrajane’s review #51: Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart by Joyce Carol Oates

  1. I read a few of her books and loved most of them, but then stopped somewhere in the middle of We Were The Mulvaneys, it just didn’t do anything for me. Looks like I should just try all the others. Her writing has always impressed me, only you put it so much better than that :)

  2. That one wasn’t a favorite – it felt like it was the longest book ever written. I remember liking how the family fell apart and how one moment changes everything and even people who are on the same side react differently.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers