Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Goddess of Apathy’s #CBR4 Review #9: Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

gone girl

Some sunny day baby
When everything seems okay, baby
You’ll wake up and find out youre alone
Cause Ill be gone
Gone, gone, gone really gone

Gone, gone, gone really gone
Gone, ga-gone, cause you done me wrong

—“Gone, Gone, Gone,” Alison Krauss & Robert Plant

Once upon a time, there was a married couple, named Nick and Amy Dunne. They seemed so perfect, so fabulous, so wonderful. It was their fifth wedding anniversary. This day of planned romance is immediately forgotten when Amy is is suddenly gone—missing. There’s no body, but there are signs of a struggle. Of course, Nick is the prime suspect in her disappearance.

I wasn’t expecting a lot from this novel when it was given to me. I heard the book was good and I wouldn’t be able to put it down. I pshawed that notion, but I was taken aback when I found myself totally enthralled by the first person narrative of reading Amy’s diary. I felt like I knew Amy, she was written so well. She told me things about her relationship with Nick, how it began, how he made her feel, how things changed when their fortunes changed and they had to move from their hip digs in New York to the Midwestern commonness of North Carthage, Mississippi.  Amy was someone I was rooting for and I was so concerned that her amazing husband had done something terrible to her. Isn’t it always the husband in cases like these?

There are always two sides to every story and author Gillian Flynn deftly swapped narrative voices in the novel and allowed us to experience Nick’s side. He was just as honest and engaging as Amy. He’s just a good-hearted Midwestern boy who loved this fantastic girl. Now, whose side am I on? Nick was a good husband, not perfect but Lord, he tried. Amy was such a perfectionist. She was so spoiled. He did the things he did to survive and try to find some happiness.

I was very pleased with how the book played out and was taken by surprise the entire time. I could not put the book down. I highly recommend it for the suspense, mystery, and the warped psychology of the plot. It is an entertaining quick read.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Goddess of Apathy’s #CBR4 Review #9: Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

  1. commanderstrikeher on said:

    This book was just….intense. I seriously got chills during some parts of it. I’m ready for more people I know to read this so I can discuss spoilers and plot twists.

    • I wanted my husband to read it so we could discuss it, but he dismissed it because of the title. I tried to tell him how intense it was, as you stated, but it was so difficult to set up the story without giving so much away. I would like to see an excellent screenwriter and director do something with it, but I would be afraid they would ruin it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers