Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

faintingviolet’s #CBR4 review #52 (!) Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

*commences happy dancing*

This is my 52nd Cannonball Read 4 review, and I am typing it on December 31, 2012! I did not dare to dream I would reach this goal (I only signed up for a half cannonball), but since I have it is fitting that it’s for reading a book I was not sure I ever would.

Why I was relatively sure I wouldn’t read Devil in the White City was that while it focuses on the men and women (but mostly men) who designed and built the Fair it also focuses on killers lurking in Chicago at the same time, one of who used the Exposition to lure his victims. So y decision was made, since I didn’t feel like reading about serial killers I was simply going to move past this book on the shelf. Then, earlier this summer I watched a documentary about the same serial killer, Dr. H.H. Holmes, born Herman Mudgett. I was intrigued by the story of Holmes and decided that I could in fact abide reading his tale through Larson’s authorial voice. I’m ever so glad I made that decision. Read more over on my blog.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, completes my Cannonball Read 4!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “faintingviolet’s #CBR4 review #52 (!) Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

  1. Yay! You made it, just in time. Congratulations on completing the full Cannonball. Happy New Reading Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers