Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Scootsa1000’s #CBR4 Review #9: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

I just finished reading The Graveyard Book, which I found in the children’s section of my library, and I started to read it, sitting comfortably in a sunny window seat, while my two year-old played with blocks and puzzles (I love my library), and thought to myself, “it doesn’t get much better than this”.

I don’t know why, but I always feel guilty when I finish a Neil Gaiman book (this is my third and a half — I didn’t finish one) and find that I didn’t LOVE it.  I guess I feel like I’m SUPPOSED to love his stuff…but I just don’t.  I like it just fine, but I don’t love it.  I like him enough that I’ve continued to pick up more of his books, but not enough to call myself a “fan”, or to finish the one book that I put aside when I lost interest.

Find out what I thought of The Graveyard Book here.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Scootsa1000’s #CBR4 Review #9: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

  1. This is actually one of my favorites of his, I think I like it more because it has less of his normal whimsy. Also, it’s supposed to be a re-telling of sorts of The Jungle Book, and I thought he did a really good job with that.

  2. I like the idea that it is a retelling of the Jungle Book…I kind of wish I had known that going in, to see if it changed the way that I read it.

  3. I don’t always love Gaiman so I can relate to your “didn’t love it but don’t want to admit it because I guess I SHOULD love it” feelings. However The Graveyard Book is on my top 10 ever list. I found it haunting, menacing, and heartbreakingly beautiful. Both the beginning and ending of this book left me in tears (and I’m not generally a weepy reader). I felt it contained some of the most original world building ever. After I put it down it would haunt me (quite literally).

  4. TylerDFC on said:

    My problem with The Graveyard Book is it was too short. I want an American Gods length story. It has a great world that I wanted to explore more.

Leave a Reply

