Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Captain Tuttle’s #CBR4 Review #8 – Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Oh, these people. I am amazed how an entire book can be populated by completely unlikeable people, and yet still suck me in to the story and drive me all the way to the end – all the while cursing every last one of them.

I won’t go into the story, because if you don’t know it by now, I won’t spoil it, or help you cheat in your high school English class. I’m not sure how I managed to avoid this (and most things Bronte) for so long, but here we are. The thing that pushed me over the edge was Jasper Fforde – can’t remember which of his Thursday Next books, but in one of them (maybe more) there was a counseling session in Wuthering Heights.  I didn’t get most of the jokes, so it was necessary to read the book. Now I get it.

Everyone is angry, and for the most part with no really good reason. They all treat each other like crap, also for no really good reason. Maybe it’s the weather on the moors. Having lived in the world, I knew how everything ended, but I was still pulled along for the ride. Mostly I think it was because I wanted to see if anything they did made sense, but I was doomed to disappointment on that point.

Regardless, this is one of those books everyone should read. It’s a classic for a reason. Just don’t look for answers or motives, because while there might be some, they are highly unsatisfactory.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Captain Tuttle’s #CBR4 Review #8 – Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

  1. I had to read this in high school and liked it well enough, although I remember my teacher saying that Heathcliff was sexy and responding that he was an a-hole. I tried to read it again last year and my reaction was much the same as yours except my response was to yell, “Ugh! TEENAGERS!” and throw the book across the room never to be picked up again. Maybe I should try again. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

