Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Bothari’s #CBR4 Review #39: Bossypants by Tina Fey

I’ve never watched 30 Rock, and I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a whole episode of Saturday Night Live, so I didn’t actually know much about Tina Fey before a friend sent me this audio book. Now, however, I’m pretty sure I’m a fan. She read the audio book herself, telling stories about her time on SCTV and SNL, being a poor receptionist, attending drama camps in high school, etc. She gives a feminist take on a lot of different issues, and some of the anecdotes about learning all the things that could possibly get a woman sneered at made me want to stand up and cheer, and then loan the book to every male I know and say “THIS! This is what we have to deal with!” Her matter-of-fact way of saying what happened and why it was the wrong thing to have happened make the stories even more resonant – she’s not melodramatic at all, just very “this is what happened, and this is why it would never have happened to a man.” She’s awesome.

My favorite chapters were the high school and college years, and how she got to be where (and who) she is. She’s a great storyteller. There were several chapters that didn’t quite seem to fit – randomly talking about breastfeeding, answering internet hate mail, the history of her father – but I guess maybe when you’re telling stories about your life, you can talk about whatever you want.

I will be checking out 30 Rock, and definitely passing this book on to other folks (male or female) who need a dose of girl power.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

