Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

CBR # 21 Cinderella Ate My Daughter By Peggy Orenstein

 


I enjoyed this book and liked Orenstein’s style – part opinion, part research.  The topic is something that all of us females can relate to.  I read this book before I knew I would be having twin girls, but I don’t think my opinion would change if I read the book now that I will have daughters of my ownA few of the chapters I felt Orenstein was just ranting about pop stars and female images.  My expectation for the book was that some advice based on experience would be given and be less anetedotal than it was.  I found myself trying to remember my own memories of my childhood and if the marketing messages had influenced me or not.  I had a bright pink room in my later teen years, but blue has always been my color of choice. 

I would be curious to read more on body image and how it has changed over time. I would have liked to seen more time spent on the social media impact for girls within school.  Facebook didn’t exist until a few years after I was out of college. 

This book is just the tip of the iceberg and one perspective. In a way I feel that parenting articles are like diet articles – there is always some ew way to do this and not that but in the end a smart and balanced approach works the best.

I hope to read more from Orenstein in the future as I appreciate her journalistic style to writing. 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

