Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Janel’s #CBR4 Review 27 The Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones

This book to me is Downton Abbey with a paranormal twist.  The reader doesn’t suspect the paranormal twist, until the author reveals a bombshell about one of the guests.  There is a sweet romance between the adult children of the two families.  Jones takes a curious look at society at that time and how sensitive everyone was.  The last couple of chapters detailing the moving of the pony just seemed really random to me.

The ending was wrapped up a little too neatly for me and I wished there was more background about the step parent. I found the Smudge character reminded me of Flavia from I am Half Sick Of Shadows. I also found it interesting that the main characters believed everything the uninvited guests said and didn’t question them.  It raises the question, do folks that live remotely tend to be more helpful even if it is inconvenient?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

