Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Janel’s #CBR4 Review 28 Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

I found a copy of this book in a used bookstore and thought it might be a nice addition to my TBR pile.  I didn’t know what to expect, but knew this book was a classic.  Personally, I didn’t get into the book until Rebecca’s body surfaced.  Prior to that I was annoyed with the new Mrs. Maxim character and wished that Maxim gave her more attention.

If you haven’t read this classic mystery you should keeping in mind the time period this book was written in versus modern mysteries.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Janel’s #CBR4 Review 28 Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

  1. This is one of those books I can pick up and open anywhere and start reading, except that all I can hear is Olivier in the movie as Maxim – which isn’t such a bad thing really. It is certainly the foremost example of books wherein ONE SIMPLE CONVERSATION could solve everything: “This drive is so scenic. I love Monte Carlo. I hated my wife. She was an awful person, but you seem nice. I should very much like to enfold you in my arms and shower burning kisses on your upturned face. ” And despite that it’s somehow riveting!

Leave a Reply

