Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Sophia’s #CBR4 Review #17: To Love a Man by Karen Robards

ImageI’m a fan of a good romance novel once in awhile. And I’m also a fan of Karen Robards. So, even though To Love A Man (1988) was published 24 years ago, I went in with relatively high expectations. I chose this book because I was craving some romance, and this was one of the few books available on kindle from my library. That should have been my first clue, but I figured since I enjoy her writing now, I probably would enjoy what she’s written in the past. But I was wrong. This was one of the worst books I have ever read. The writing was repetitive and boring, the characters were unlikable, and the hero was a complete asshole.
Lisa Collins comes from a family with money and works as a journalist at one of the newspapers her grandfather owns. She married her college sweetheart who turned out to be gay and had one child who died of Leukemia. In an effort to get away, Lisa Collins accepts an assignment in war-torn Rhodesia. When the farm where she is staying is attacked by rebels, everyone is killed and everything is set on fire. Lisa manages to escape and runs into Sam Eastman, a mercenary hired to–I don’t know, start a war or make the current leader look bad, or something. Because Lisa is making too much noise when she is running for her life, Sam punches her in the face, knocking her out. Sexy.
Read the rest of my review here.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

