Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

pyrajane’s review #37: How To Be Black by Baratunde R. Thurston

A few years ago my friend Tamatha (organizer of last year’s CBR!) told me about Pajiba.  Later she told me about CBR and got me started last year.  This year she verbally attacked me with excitement over How To Be Black.  I don’t even think she had actually read it yet, but she was going to, and by god, I was too.  She posted her review back in May and would occasionally ask me if I had gotten a copy.  I told her it was on my To Be Read list (along with, no lie, around 600 other books) and I’d get to it.

I finally got to it.  And she was right to demand that I read it.  It’s smart, funny and honest, and since I didn’t read it during Black History Month, I am totally ahead of the game.

Please please go read my review.  This book is amazing and I think maybe I’m not racist anymore, but I’m not sure.  (I should have bought it and not gotten it from the library!)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

