Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

meilufay’s #CBR4 review #44 Masters of Doom: How Two Guys Created An Empire and Transformed Pop Culture by David Kushner

I did not play Wolfenstein 3D, Doom or Quake; however, I knew lots of people who did.  One of my exes was passionately devoted to these games and would “disappear” for hours and days at a time while playing them.  I’ve been to LAN parties.  I’m relatively well-briefed on the impact these games had on people’s lives, on pop culture and on the modern gaming industry.  When I saw this book, I thought it might be an interesting, fun, quick read.  And it was.  The two Johns (Carmack and Romero) who dominate the narrative of this book are particularly interesting characters and because they are not too much older than me, I can identify with who they are and where they came from culturally speaking.  I knew a lot of guys like the two Johns and I thought Kushner did a great job with their stories.

I don’t really have a lot more to say about this book.  I think you’ll know, based on the flyleaf or Goodreads description, whether or not this is a book that will interest you.  If it does interest you, I can assure that it is an enjoyable read.  It didn’t rock my world but I’m glad I read it and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to someone interested in the subject matter.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

