Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

meilufay’s #CBR4 review #49 Sins of the Demon (Kara Gillian #4) by Diana Rowland

I’m really torn about this, the fourth book in Diana Rowland’s Kara Gillian series.  On the one hand, the book had a genuinely interesting story.  Having set up the rules for demon summoning in the first book, Rowland casts them in a new perspective in this book and I love it when a writer does that.  However, as she shifts from telling self-contained murder mysteries with touches of an ongoing narrative into dealing more and more explicitly with the ongoing storyline, each book becomes less and less satisfying to read.  Like the third book in the series, this one ends with a major cliffhanger.  I honestly hate it when series do that and I am indifferent to the fact that a fifth book is coming out later this year.  So I guess I’m not torn, am I?  Because, honestly, I have no interest in reading further in this series.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed this book, and I enjoy the ongoing story, but I do not enjoy either enough to hold the narrative threads in my head while waiting another year for another book to not satisfy me.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

