Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

pyrajane’s review#41: Enlightened Sexism: The Seductive Message That Feminism’s Work Is Done by Susan J. Douglas

I love non-fiction books that are solidly researched and then written in a conversational tone.  There’s a time for textbook-like writing, but I prefer non-fiction where the author’s voice comes through.  Sarah Vowell does it and whenever I read her historical books I feel like we’re hanging out and she’s all “Oh, hey!  Did I tell you about President Lincoln getting assassinated?  Check this out…” and then we laugh and laugh and are best friend forever.

Douglas writes in this same way here and I really enjoyed it.  A different author could have easily made this a book of facts and I would have zoned out quickly and put it aside as things I sort of already knew, but am not interested in reading about in terms of numbers and percentages.  Instead, Douglas pulls from the research and applies it to pop culture and media and says “OK, look.  Here’s what the data tells us, but let’s look at what’s happening on TV.”  I appreciated this approach, and while it still didn’t make for a quick read over a day or two, it was a pleasure to spend time with it and think about my own stance on feminism.

Read the rest here and why this is good read for anyone.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “pyrajane’s review#41: Enlightened Sexism: The Seductive Message That Feminism’s Work Is Done by Susan J. Douglas

  1. Great review! This election has really highlighted my own frustration with the assumption that the entire Civil Rights movement (not just feminism) has done its job. Our culture is still racist and sexist and our polity is still unequal. I’m glad Susan Douglas wrote this book, and that it’s good, and that you reviewed it!

  2. I feel the same way. It’s astounding to me that arguments and policies that men are making sound like they’re coming from the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. What happened??

Leave a Reply

