Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Janel’s #CBR4 Review 53 Night Watch by Linda Fairstein

While I officially completed my goal for Cannonball Read IV, I still had 18 books to read to meet my personal goal of 70 books. This book also became this first book I completed while in the hospital.  I picked up this book at the library because I was looking for a good mystery and I knew Fairstein wouldn’t let me down.

One of the subplots actually was “ripped from the headlines” which I don’t remember Fairstein doing in her previous books I’ve read.  The other subplot tangled her long time character Alexandra between her lover and her job. I enjoyed the plot twists and how Fairstein featured the restaurant business within the mystery.

Without giving too much away, I was disappointed that the “ripped from the headlines” subplot was never really solved or fleshed out more. The mystery behind the other subplot seemed forced to me as well. I am curious to see where Fairstein takes these characters next!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

