Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

meilufay’s #CBR4 review #58 All Spells Break Loose (Raine Benares #6) by Lisa Shearin

All Spells Break Loose is the sixth in Lisa Shearin’s Raine Benares series.  It is NOT a standalone book, it’s the culmination of the story developed over the first five books.  Generally speaking, my tolerance for a series expires at book three.  I personally find it annoying to have to carry the characters in my head and then pick them all up again a year (or many years) later.  I dislike the sense that I’m not done at the end of a book.  There’s a lot of series that I’ve abandoned simply because I was tired of maintaining space in my mental hard drive for them.  I may not even read the next George RR Martin.  (But I probably will because, dammit, I’ve invested a lot of time in the series and I kind of want to know what happens.)  I enjoyed the first five Raine Benares books when I read them all together in one week long session.  But in the six month gap between my reading the fifth Raine Benares and All Spells Break Loose, I found that I’d forgotten to care about the characters, and I was just kind of meh about this book.  I’m relieved to have the series all tied up but I’ve learned an important lesson here: stop reading these series.  If, however, you ARE someone who enjoys serial novels, then the magical world of Raine Benares is a fun, light-hearted one to spend time in.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

