Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

meilufay’s #CBR4 review #72 Exile (Garnethill #2) by Denise Mina

Exile is the second book in Denise Mina’s Garnethill trilogy.  I suppose you could read it as a stand-alone novel because the actual mystery in the book is unrelated to the mystery in the first book, but I personally would recommend reading Garnethill first.  The character arcs in Exile so clearly are building on the events of the first book that I can’t imagine picking up this book and not feeling as though you’re missing something.

The second book or film in any trilogy often feels very interstitial and Exile is no exception.  While the book tells a satisfying murder mystery story, it’s clearly setting up the characters for the third and final book in the series and, as a result, was a slightly less satisfying read than the first book.  Don’t get my wrong, I enjoyed this book thoroughly and I can’t wait to read Resolution, but I didn’t find this book to be as compulsive a read as Garnethill.  Still, I’m pretty excited about Denise Mina as a writer and I can’t wait to read more of her books.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

