Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Captain Tuttle’s #CBR4 Review #10 – The Boys of Summer by Ciaran West

I read this book mainly because everyone else was, or at least every Pajiban was. There’s a good reason for that – the author is a fellow Pajiban, and this is his first novel. I was almost afraid to read it, afraid I wasn’t going to like it, and was going to have to say so. Lucky me (and all of us), because this book is fantastic.

It’s taken me far too long to write this because all the Pajibans have already said everything and far more eloquently than I ever could.  But I’ll give it a shot.  Richie South is a young lad in Limerick, with an older brother, a loving mother, a slightly distant father, and a group of friends he runs around with dodging some violent older boys.  The book opens with a skirmish between the two factions, and Richie scores a lucky hit.  He and his friends haul, and Richie makes it home to his mom relatively unscathed.  Not long after, it’s discovered that a little boy, not much younger than Richie and his friends, has been murdered (among other things).

Richie and the other boys decide to look into the murder, and they think they have a good idea about who may have done it.  They snoop around, and find a few things that force them to grow up quite a bit faster than anyone would like.  There is a lot more to this book than I’m telling, but there is so much in there I’d hate to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it yet.

I highly recommend this book, and at the same time I’m incredibly jealous of someone that I (peripherally, virtually, whatever) know doing something I’ve been wanting to do for years.  I’m jealous, and impressed.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

