Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

Alli’s #CBR4 Review # 46 – A Scanner Darkly by Phillip K Dick

This book has been on my to read list for some time so when I was out shopping at Chapters (they reeled me in with a card that got me savings from $5-$50 if I spent $50, guess how much I saved) I decided to pick this one up. I really enjoyed “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep” so I was excited to read another Philip K. Dick novel and I wasn’t disappointed.
A Scanner Darkly” is set in “the future” well it was when it was written. This book was written the year I was born and set the year before I graduated High School. It is hard to say what it is “about” per say, drugs and conspiracies maybe? It is set in a world where you are either drug user or a “straight”. The drug that most of the users are addicted to is called Substance D, Slow Death or Death. It is a drug that apparently is grown and has only one source. Our protagonist, Bob Arctor is an undercover narcotics agent seeking to take down a big time supplier and maybe one day even take down Substance D from the top.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

