Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

meilufay’s #CBR4 review #77 Old Man’s War by John Scalzi

I am 20 books behind on my reviews so I’m just going to apologize to you guys in advance for blasting you over the next couple of weeks (and probably not being as thoughtful as possible in my reviews).

I read Redshirts last month and loved it so much that I was excited to read a second John Scalzi book.  As a happy coincidence, this book was included in the Humble Bundle, which I had downloaded earlier, so it was a natural follow-up choice.  I think Old Man’s War was John Scalzi’s first novel and, honestly, I don’t think it was the best idea to read it back to back with Redshirts.  Redshirts is the work of a veteran writer who is completely a master of his genre and his form.  Old Man’s War, while possessed of a great idea, and being an entertaining and well-written book, is simply not as awesome as Redshirts.  Don’t get me wrong – I really enjoyed this book.  It was smart, funny, engaging and had a couple of great twists and turns.  I just kind of wish I’d read it *before* I’d read Redshirts because I think Redshirts may be one of my favorite books from this year and in comparison, Old Man’s War is just a good book, rather than a great one.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

