Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

loopyker’s #CBR4 Review #07: Daring Greatly by Brené Brown

I’ve watched exactly one full episode of Katie – the Katie Couric show.   I heard that Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess was going to be on an episode, so I had to watch it. Brené Brown happened to be the main guest on the same show and she made such an impression on me that I immediately convinced my boyfriend to buy me her book, Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent and Lead.

Sdaringgreatlyblogo, I took a little break from my usual fiction books to read this research-based, self-help type of book. It took me a little longer than usual to get through it – not because I wasn’t interested, but because I had to keep stopping to make notes on post-its and discuss things that I found interesting with my boyfriend. He hasn’t read the book himself yet, but he probably knows what half of it says already from me! So, this book just had to jump the queue in my ever growing, waiting-to-be-reviewed book list.

I think virtually everyone can see themselves and others in at least parts of this book somewhere. I found meaning in so many sections of it, that I did something I’ve never done before – I bought it for someone else before I even finished reading it (two people actually, with the help of my boyfriend). I also recommended it to others – and still do.

This isn’t a touchy-feely self-help book. Brené Brown is always referring to her research, in a way that the scientific mind in me appreciates, but she still makes it very accessible to non-researchers by relating it to every-day people and situations, including many from her own life. For a short version of her style and some of the topics covered in Daring Greatly, check out the video of her very popular 2010 TEDxHouston talk, The Power of Vulnerability , which she performed before writing this book.

review continued at Loopy Ker’s Life

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “loopyker’s #CBR4 Review #07: Daring Greatly by Brené Brown

  1. I’ve also seen one episode of Katie, because of The Bloggess! I skipped most of the Brené Brown part, but I’m going to have to check her out now.

    • I almost skipped it too, but am very glad I didn’t! I don’t think the Jenny Lawson part would have made as much sense without seeing the Brené Brown part either. They were using Jenny and her fans as an example of people “daring greatly”.

Leave a Reply

