Cannonball Read IV

A bunch of Pajibans reading and reviewing and honoring AlabamaPink.

meilufay’s #CBR4 review #87 Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K Dick

I am almost ashamed to admit that this is the first Philip K Dick book that I’ve read.  I’d always meant to read him, but somehow or another had never gotten around to it.  And then, I decided to make a project out of reading The City & The City and New York Trilogy by reading a lot of crime novels and somehow that extended to reading Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep.  (And then, because I’m nothing if not thorough, watching all three available versions of Blade Runner, which is, of course, based on this book.)

I found this book unputdownable.  It was heartbreaking, intelligent and mysterious (unlike so many science fiction writers, Dick spares his readers long-winded explanations on Why Things Are This Way or How Things Work).  Although both the book and the movie had a haunting quality, I found Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep stayed with me more.  The addition of the Mercerism subplot and the complex feelings the characters in this world feel towards animals really made an impression on me.  There’s something really heartbreaking about Deckard’s yearning for a real animal to take care of in place of his electric sheep.  Both Blade Runner and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep question what makes a human real, but the book is able to explore these ideas in more depth.  I loved it.  I can’t wait to read more.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

